Winning Projects – WTINE 2016

The National Finals of “Where There is No Engineer – Designing for Community Resilience” 2016 were held at St. Laurence, Grangegorman on Saturday the 11th June and were officially opened by Joan Burton TD.

This year saw approx. 130 entries from over 300 students of Architecture, Engineering and Product Design from five Irish Universities and Institutes of Technology including UCD UCC, TCD, DIT and IT Sligo. After a series of regional finals these were reduced down to 11 finalists.

Joan Burton TD, who opened the Finals receiving Khada from Deepesh Man Shakya, President of Nepal Ireland Society.

There were a number of award categories;

Overall Winner:

Project: Biochar Kiln.

Team: Eoin Cummins, Evan Dowling, Daniel Morgan, Eoin Bracken.

College: DIT Product Design.

wtine 1

The winning team from DIT Product Design receiving their prize from Caroline Ruddy of main sponsors Davies.

The overall winning team are sponsored by Davies to travel to Nepal to scope their concept further and to experience first-hand the country, environment and people.

EWB Ireland together with Davies will work with the winning team to refine their design and implement their idea in a specific community in Nepal, while in-country support will be provided by Concern Worldwide and Nepal Ireland Society.

Arup Innovation Projects;

This year, we also have a number of “Innovation Awards” sponsored by the Arup Charitable Trust. These projects were identified by the judges as having potential to make a significant impact on the health and resilience of communities in developing countries and the award will allow the teams to work with EWB Ireland to refine, test and develop their ideas to a stage at which they can be implemented.

Project #1: Portable Biogas Unit for Sustainable Alternative Fuel Source.

Team: Ciaran McSharry, Jonas Robineau, Rory O’Donnell, Joe McLean.

College: DIT Civil Engineering.


The team from DIT Civil Engineering received an Arup Innovation Award for their “Portable Biogas Unit” from Emer Kennedy of Arup.

Project#2: A Waste Management System for Disease Control.

Team: Joseph Bollard, Fiona Brennan, Conor Dempsey, Sinead Nolan.

College: UCD

wtine 3

Sinead Nolan, Fiona Brennan, Conor Dempsey and Joseph Bollard of UCD with Emer Kennedy of Arup.

Project#3: Human Powered Washing Machine.

Team: Ben Frost.

College: DIT

Ben Frost who received an Arup Innovation award pictured with Emer Kennedy of Arup.

Ben Frost who received an Arup Innovation award pictured with Emer Kennedy of Arup.

Judging Panel:

wtine 5

The judges and winning teams.

The event is designed to be relatively informal and is structured around a “dragons den” style format. There were a number of judges from the sponsors and partners.

Dermot Quinlan Director, Liffey Developments

Declan Alcock Director, Engineers Without Borders Ireland

Michael Doorly Head of Citizen Engagement, Concern Worldwide

Ann O’Mahony Director of Overseas Development, Concern Worldwide

Deepesh Shakya President, Nepal Ireland Society

Emer Kennedy Senior Engineer, Arup