Thank you to Davies Group

A big “Thank you” to Davies Group for their continued sponsorship of “Where There is No Engineer”, our design competition for students and professionals. This is Davies second year sponsoring the competition.


Gerry Tobin, Managing Director of Davies Group is pictured here presenting a cheque for €5,000 to Elaine Doyle, Head of overseas volunteering at EWB-Ireland and Anne O’Mahony, Head of International Programmes at Concern-Worldwide. Also pictured are the winning team from WTINE 2015 Seán Byrne, Brendan Beattie and Thomas Carrigg from DIT and Stephen Down, secretary of EWB-Ireland.

The winning team are travelling to Marsabit, Northern Kenya in January to install their project “The Modified Air-Drop System” which condenses humid air to provide clean water.

This years competition is based on Nepal and we have some great project ideas being developed by teams from DIT, UCD, UCC, TCD and IT Sligo. The aim is to give students and professionals an opportunity to design creative solutions to real-life development projects and contribute to sustainable development in a meaningful way.

If any other student or professional teams or individuals are interested in getting involved please contact ;